Trans-Atlantic imaging of the Lithosphere-Asthenosphere Boundary | INSTITUT DE PHYSIQUE DU GLOBE DE PARIS

Twitter

Aller au compte twitter

Research Departments

Marine geosciences

  Trans-Atlantic imaging of the Lithosphere-Asthenosphere Boundary

The lithosphere is the main building block of plate tectonic, and Lithosphere-Asthenosphere Boundary (LAB) is most prevalent plate boundary on the Earth. The objectives of the TransAtlanticIlab project are to characterize the nature of the lithosphere from its formation at mid-ocean ridges to up to 75 Ma old crust and image the LAB using a combination of different geophysical methods across the Atlantic Ocean.

 

The European Research Council (ERC), the main European Union funding body, has awarded an ERC Advanced Grant to Professor Satish Singh, to study the oceanic lithosphere down to its base, at up to 100 km depth. The data were acquired aboard WesternGeco’ IsoMetrix vessel M/V Western Trident during March-April 2015. A total of 2810 km ultra-deep seismic reflection data was acquired starting from Greenwich Meridian at 1º S, at about 75 Ma of oceanic lithosphere in nearly E-W direction, crossing the Mid-Atlantic Ridge at 1.3º S, corresponding to zero age of the lithosphere. The profile extends ~500 km west of the Mid-Atlantic Ridge and transects 0-25 Ma of the oceanic lithosphere on the South American Plate.  

 

The reflection experiment will be complemented by refraction data acquisition along one part of the profile, providing velocity information that would be useful to migrate these data, and also characterize the velocity structure down to 20-30 km depth. This part of the project will be jointly carried out by GeoMar in Germany and IPGP in France.  Furthermore, 30 broadband seismometer will be deployed along the same profiles in order to charaterise the large scale velocity structure of the upper mantle, and possibly image the LAB using receiver function technique.  The British Natural Environmental Research Council and an ERC grant to Dr. Kate Rychert will fund this part of the project. The National Science Foundation grant to Dr. Steve Constable and Dr. Kerry Key will enable deployment of magnetotelluric instruments along the same profile. All these data will be jointly interpreted to develop a model of the formation and evolution of the oceanic lithosphere.

For more information about the reflection experiment of the TransAtlanticILAB project please follow the link below

www.

Trans-Atlantic imaging of the Lithosphere-Asthenosphere Boundary | INSTITUT DE PHYSIQUE DU GLOBE DE PARIS

Twitter

Aller au compte twitter

Équipes de recherche

Géosciences marines

  Trans-Atlantic imaging of the Lithosphere-Asthenosphere Boundary

 

Full site webpage here:

 

http://www.ipgp.fr/~marjanovic/ILAB/

 

La lithosphère est la principale composante de la tectonique des plaques et l'interface lithosphère-asthénosphère est présente sur tout le Globe.  Les objectifs du projet TransAtlanticILAB sont de caractériser la nature de la lithosphère en partant de la zone de formation au niveau des rides médio-océaniques jusqu'à un âge de 75 Ma, et d'imager l'interface lithosphère-asthénosphère en utilisant plusieurs méthodes géophysiques dans l'Océan Atlantique.

 

Le Conseil de la Recherche Européen, la principal organisme de financement européen, a accordé une bourse de recherche (ERC Advanced Grant) au professeur Satish Singh, pour étudier la lithosphère jusqu'à sa base et en dessous, jusqu'à 100 km de profondeur.  Les données ont été acquises à bord du vaisseau Western Trident, appartenant à WesternGeco IsoMetrix, pendant la période mars-avril 2015.  Un total de 2810 km de données sismiques de très grande profondeur ont été acquises, en partant du méridien de Greenwich à 1°S, sur une lithosphère de 75 Ma, dans une direction approximativement Est-Ouest, traversant la ride médio-atlantique à 1,3°S, sur une lithosphère d'âge zéro.  Le profile continue approximativement 500 km vers l'Ouest et recoupe une lithosphère de 0-25 Ma sur la plaque Sud-Américaine.

 

L'expérience de sismique réflexion sera complétée par des données de sismique réfraction acquises le long d'une partie du profile, offrant des informations sur les vitesses sismiques utiles pour la migration des données temps, et caractérisant la structure jusqu'à des profondeurs de 20-30 km.  Cette partie du projet sera menée conjointement par GeoMar en Allemagne et par l'IPGP en France.  Par la suite, 30 sismomètres large bande seront déployés au long des mêmes profiles afin de caractériser à grande échelle la vitesse du manteau supérieur, et de visualiser l'interface lithosphère-asthénosphère en utilisant la technique des fonctions récepteur.  British Natural Environmental Research Council et une bourse ERC du Conseil Européen attribuée à Dr. Kate Rychert assureront le financement de ce projet.  La bourse de recherche NSF de Dr. Steve Constable et Dr. Kerry Key permettra le déploiement d'instruments de magnétotellurique le long du même profile.  Toutes ces données seront utilisées pour une interprétation jointe afin d'obtenir un modèle de la formation et de l'évolution de la lithosphère océanique.