Djibouti | INSTITUT DE PHYSIQUE DU GLOBE DE PARIS

Twitter

Aller au compte twitter

  Djibouti

Participants IPGP: 

When in 1968, plate tectonics became the only sensible hypothesis, Djibouti was quickly identified as a place where an oceanic ridge can be observed "on shore" as in Iceland, and therefore an excellent place to verify (and quantify different aspects of) this hypothesis.

 

Very rapidly large measurement campaigns have been conducted : deep seismic sounding profiles in 1971, first geodetic network in 1972, gravity and aeromagnetic surveys.

 

In 1973, following a strong seismic crisis that was largely felt in Djibouti, a geophysical Observatory was set up on the Arta mountain. After djiboutian  independence in 1977, the Observatory has been jointly managed by IPGP and the Republic of Djibouti. This Observatory has been the starting point for many scientific expeditions in the region. For the last 40 years, it has been monitoring the rich seismicity of the Gulf of Aden, the Red Sea, the Gulf of Tadjoura, the volcanic seismicity of the Asal Rift, zones of active distension in the Afar triangle and its borders : around 1000 to 2000 events per year.

 

Most of French researchers in Geodesy have started their career in Djibouti. The repetition of the measurement of the geodetic network after the Adoukoba rifting episode, allowed to measure the spreading of an active rift for the first time. Metric displacements were observed. This was also the topic of the first real life. inverse problem, studied by Albert Tarantola. A wide range of instruments have been used for this purpose: from the theodolite to space instruments (Doris), GPS in 1987, radar interferometry, laser measurements.

Djibouti | INSTITUT DE PHYSIQUE DU GLOBE DE PARIS

Twitter

Aller au compte twitter

  Djibouti

Participants IPGP: 

Très vite après que la tectonique des plaques soit devenue incontournable en 1968, Djibouti a été identifié comme un lieu où une dorsale océanique émerge comme en Islande et comme un endroit privilégié pour les études géodynamiques.

Très rapidement un progamme de grandes campagnes de mesures a été réalisé: grands profils sismiques en 1971, premier réseau géodésique en 1972, levés gravimétriques et aéromagnétiques.

En 1973, à la suite d'une crise sismique largement ressentie à Djibouti, un observatoire géophysique a été créé sur la montagne d'Arta. Après l"indépendance du territoire en 1977; l"observatoire a été co-géré par l'IPG et la République de Djibouti. Cet observatoire a joué le rôle de base opérationnelle pour de nombreuses campagnes dans la région. Il enregistre une riche sismicité dans le golfe d'Aden, la mer Rouge, le golfe de Tadjoura, la sismicité volcanique du rift d'Asal des zones de distensions actives dans le triangle Afar et de ses marges, entre 1000 et 2000 évènements par an depuis plus de 30 ans

La plupart des géodésiens français ont fait leurs premières armes à Djibouti. C'est là que la remesure du réseau géodésique après l'épisode de rifting qui a donné naissance à l'Ardoukoba a permis de mesurer des écartement métriques dans un rift pour la première fois. Tout l'arsenal d'instruments a été utilisé, depuis les théodolites et les niveaux aux méthodes spatiales comme le Doris, le GPS  en 1987 et l'interferométrie radar en passant par les mesures de distances laser